Knitting Mojo

20160724_082055I’ve been working on this pair of socks for the last couple of months. I’m getting close now, half way through the gusset of the second sock and hopefully it won’t take another month to get it finished. I’m not actually sure what the hold up is but as any long-time knitter will tell you, there are times when the mojo just goes on vacation for a while.  Mine seems to be taking an extended leave of absence, because I think it’s been a year since I knit anything significant. Anyway, it’s much too hot right now to worry about it very much.I’ve sent a couple sets of baby booties out into the world, and on a whim one day started a little sweater, but I don’t think I have enough yarn to finish it, and I may have to rip it back quite a bit to be re-proportioned.

20160724_10441320160724_082019

I think what’s happened is that I vowed to bring my yarn stash down to fit in one box, which means I need to get cracking and knit up a few skeins before I let myself start drooling over new yarn again.  If you’re a knitter, you know how it is when you go to the yarn shop and the fibers start calling out to you and randomly jump into your basket and trick you into buying them and taking them home.  They make such beguiling promises, and you know that you just HAVE to adopt them, if for no other reason than to take them out to pet them once in a while. It can be very inspiring.

I actually have some beautiful yarns.20160724_082126  Two long skeins of 100% cashmere lace-weight.  Some BFL crying to be turned into mitts. Silk blends with no purpose whatsoever other than to look beautiful. Alpaca! Merino! More cashmere!  What’s a knitter to do?  What am I to do when I can barely get the socks done?

I think I’ll get all the yarn out and spread it around on the sofa and spare bed and then get the pattern books out and spread them around too.  I bet something will come together and the yarn and I might be back in business.

Or maybe I’ll go make some ice tea and watch a movie and the socks will finish themselves.

What do you think the chances are?

 

5 thoughts on “Knitting Mojo

  1. Hmm.. yes, I know what you mean. I have quite a collection of yarn yet to be turned into something. I really do love the colour of the yarn in the first picture of socks – could you tell me what it is? (see here I am, already tempted to buy more!!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The sock yarn is from The Woolen Rabbit and the color is called Spruce. I went to her site, but I don’t see that color any more. But this one (http://www.thewoolenrabbit.com/kashmir-mystic-mountain-pine/ ) is really close. Mystic Mountain Pine is a little more blue, but it’s gorgeous. In fact ALL of Kim’s yarns are gorgeous. My favorite yarn shop. (Oops! Am I being an enabler? I hope so!! LOL)
      PS: A couple nights of TV and I’m working on the toe now. Almost done! YAAAY!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. What a lovely shop. Her yarns are indeed gorgeous – but sadly beyond my price range with shipping to the UK on top! Oh well, I just have to dream about it and keep my eyes open for something similar closer to home. Thanks for sharing 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Many times, I’ve wished my projects would finish themselves, but I’ve been disappointed. My knitting mojo usually disappears in the summertime.

    Your projects are gorgeous, and the baby socks are seriously adorable.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment